houston news, houston local news, breaking news in houston, houston weather at newscast media





















Five new countries voted as UN Security Council members



by Joseph Earnest October 17, 2013


Newscast Media WASHINGTON—The UN General Assembly has elected five new non-permanent members to the UN Security Council.

Saudi Arabia, Chad, Nigeria, Chile, and Lithuania will serve for two years on the 15-member Security Council, starting January 1, 2014.

All five countries ran unopposed in the October 17 election, but they still needed approval from two-thirds of the General Assembly. They will replace Morocco, Togo, Pakistan, Guatemala, and Azerbaijan.

Chad, Saudi Arabia, and Lithuania have never served on the U.N.'s most powerful body, while Nigeria and Chile have both been on the Council four times previously. The Security Council has five veto-wielding permanent members -- the United States, Britain, France, Russia, and China
and 10 non-permanent members.

                                        Add Comments>>

 Source: Radio Free Europe










       Find newscast media on youtube for houston news and local breaking news        get newscast media news feeds for breaking news, houston local news and world news.          Get our facebook updates on world news, houston news and houston local news including sports         Twitter

 Join the Newscast Media social networks

for current events and multimedia content. 






 Copyright© Newscast Media. All Rights Reserved. Terms and Privacy Policy