Posts Tagged ‘Dan Patrick Texas’

Texas becomes more conservative as Tea Party secures victories

Tea Party flag

Newscast Media HOUSTON—After a vicious battle with veteran politicians to
demonstrate that it is still relevant, the Tea Party secured major victories in the
Texas runoff elections, displacing well-funded politicians who were considered
moderate, with Tea Party “die hard” candidates who did not have household names,
but were considered conservative.

In the race for lieutenant governor, the three-term incumbent David Dewhurst who
has been in the position since 2003, and injected $5 million of his own money into the
race, was easily defeated by underfunded talkradio host Dan Patrick who will now be
facing Democrat Leticia Van De Putte in November.

Patrick garnered 65 percent of the vote to Dewhurst’s 35 percent, and said he had
put behind him the nasty things that both candidates said about each other during
the race.

“So it’s all forgiven in my view. It’s in the rearview mirror. Let’s move on,” Patrick said.

Dewhurst gave a concession speech and blamed the heavy rain for holding back the
voters. “When I woke up this morning … I saw blanket rain clouds. I said, ‘Oh boy,
here we go again.’”

In another hotly-contested race for Texas Attorney General, Tea Party candidate Ken
Paxton defeated Dan Branch by 63.6 percent or 465,395 votes, to 36.4 percent or
265,963 votes. A loss of almost 200,000 votes is a margin Dan Branch could not
overcome. Paxton will be facing Democrat Sam Houston in the November general.

These big wins by Tea Party candidates who were supported by Ted Cruz make
Senator Cruz virtually the most powerful politician in Texas.

Other Texas Republican nominees include:

Agriculture Commissioner nominee Sid Miller
Railroad Commissioner nominee Ryan Sitton
U. S. Representative District 4 nominee John Ratcliffe
U. S. Representative District 23 nominee Will Hurd
U. S. Representative District 36 nominee Brian Babin
State Board of Education, District 11 nominee Patricia “Pat” Hardy
State Senator, District 2 nominee Bob Hall
State Senator, District 10 nominee Konnie Burton
State Representative District 10 nominee John Wray
State Representative District 16 nominee Will Metcalf
State Representative District 53 nominee Andrew Murr
State Representative District 58 nominee DeWayne Burns
State Representative District 66 nominee Matt Shaheen
State Representative District 102 nominee Linda Koop
State Representative District 108 nominee Morgan Meyer
State Representative District 129 nominee Dennis Paul
and State Representative District 132 nominee Mike Schofield

Be the first to comment - What do you think?  Posted by Joseph Earnest - May 28, 2014 at 11:41 pm

Categories: News   Tags: , , , ,